My Palette

As a quick introduction to this page, I thought I should share a little about my palette. Like most wine connoisseurs, what I enjoy depends on the occasion for imbibing.

With A Meal

Of course, pairing food and wine could be (and is, depending on where you are) the topic of several university courses. Briefly, I will say that with any pairing, I prefer my wine to complement my entree without overpowering the food. If anything, I prefer the wine to be less complex than the meal. In other words, I want the wine to be the well-mannered aunt at her nephew’s wedding and not the drunken best man who is trying to steal the focus from the newlyweds. Unless I’m trying to impress my companions, a well-balanced red will do for any red meat-based entree, and a crisp Pinot Grigio will do for any chicken-based meal.

With A Friend

If I am enjoying a glass of wine with a good friend and great conversation, I want to enjoy what I call a ‘contemplative red.’ By this, I mean I want a full-bodied, robust red with an intriguing nose and a complex palette. I want something that I can sip and enjoy for an hour. I do NOT want something that my mother could drink while sitting out by the pool. We have a wine at Chateau Thomas called Teroldego, a profound Italian red with the heartiness to stand up to any robust Italian feast; this is my go-to contemplative red.

By The Pool

I’ll use this category to describe a wine for any hot day, whether I am enjoying it by the pool or on the patio. For this occasion, a crisp, refreshing, chilled white will do the trick. As long as those three criteria are satisfied, I am satisfied. It could be a Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Grigio, Viognier, or something else. As long as it is not too dry or oaky, I am content.

Overall

In general, I prefer dry, red wines (Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfandel, Malbec) to light, white wines (Sauvignon Blanc, Vignoles, Pinot Grigio), and I rarely reach for a bottle of dry white; in fact, if you have a Chardonnay that you think will change my mind, feel free to message me!

Leave a Reply

